eat. shop. love. nyc.


Pho sandwich? Pho R.E.A.L.
January 14, 2011, 5:25 pm
Filed under: Eat | Tags: , , , , , , ,

I heart pho. The northern Vietnamese noodle soup makes my heart go pitter patter and soothes my soul. I’d been hearing rumors of pho in sandwich form for some time. I knew this sandwich to be located at Sunny and Annie’s Deli on the corner of Ave. B and 6th St., and I’d passed the deli several times without so much as a second glance. The deli looked pretty standard, and I’m not much of a deli sandwich kind of gal so I had tucked this tidbit of knowledge away in my memory banks for a day when I might be in the mood for pho and a sandwich simultaneously.

Recently, that day came.

Admittedly, I was a little inebriated. I was starving, and we were on our way to No Malice Palace and I just had to eat something. Anything. And then we passed Sunny and Annie’s, and I knew it was meant to be.

The Pho R.E.A.L. ($6.99) is a roast beef sandwich stuffed with bean sprouts, basil, cilantro, avocado, tomato, red onion, hoisin, and sriracha sauce. It can be served hot or cold. I know, I know. Real pho doesn’t come with avocado and tomatoes, but let it go. It’s a damn good sandwich.

So good, in fact, that I could not stop thinking about it and had to have it again within the next three days. I found myself thinking about it so often that it became an unhealthy obsession. I needed to know: would it be as good sober as it was drunk?

It was.

Eat: Sunny and Annie’s (East Village) 94 Avenue B (at 6th), New York, NY 10009-6265. (212) 677-3131

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

