eat. shop. love. nyc.


Botan ebi sashimi
December 5, 2010, 7:44 pm
Filed under: Eat | Tags: , , , , , , , ,

I have a cyclical personality. I tend to go through phases where I crave a single cuisine or even a single food item and I want to have it every day. In November, I found myself at Sushi UO once a week (if I had all the money in the world, I would have been there far more frequently).

The last time I went, I got the botan ebi sashimi appetizer ($9), which is comprised of two sweet shrimp sashimi, one topped with uni (sea urchin roe) and the other topped with ikura (salmon roe).

The uni and the sweet shrimp is a decadent combination: sticky sweet with a rich mouthfeel.

The ikura ebi was more playful, the bubbles of salmon roe pop in your mouth and explode with flavor.

The shrimp are served alongside a centerpiece of deep-fried shrimp heads and tails, which are perfectly crisped and a pleasure to eat, texturally and in terms of flavor – the head has the best flavor!

Again, I highly recommend both of the no rice rolls (#s 1 and 2) to anyone who wants something that feels light, is on a low carb diet, or simply wants to try something new. This is the no rice roll #1 with tuna, shrimp, crab, avocado, radish sprouts, tobiko wrapped in cucumber ($13).

I’ve also blogged before about the no rice roll #2 with yellowtail, tuna, kaiware, and Asian pear, which is a total steal at $8.

Get thee to Sushi UO. Stat.

Eat: Sushi UO (LES) 151 Rivington St. between Clinton and Suffolk, upstairs. 212-677-5470. They take reservations starting at 5 pm, or you can reserve seats on Open Table.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

