eat. shop. love. nyc.


The best kebabs in Cannes

Place Gambetta is the place to be when you’ve got a hankering for meat in a wrap. This is a smaller, but still sizable, daily market than the Marche Forville in the covered area in the center of the square. Place Gambetta is a block north of the Rue d’Antibes and a couple of blocks east of the train station. Place Gambetta is home to Sylane Kebab (Turkish) and Aux Delices Armenienes (Armenian, duh).

If you like your kebabs a little messy with lamb meat juice and yogurt sauce dribbling down your chin, Sylane is the place to go. The döner kebabs here were a revelation for me when I took my first sweet, sweet bite (sweet in the figurative sense, not literally) – I hadn’t tasted such moist and flavorful meat in my life. Granted, at the time I first tried Sylane’s kebab, my kebab experience had been confined to kebab joints in the US, but even New York City couldn’t compare. No, Bereket does not serve a good kebab (most of the time – it is always hit or miss); its saving grace is that it is open 24/7 and its many drunk patrons can’t tell a good kebab from their own asses.

If you prefer your kebabs to be a little less saucy, Aux Delices Armenienes on the opposite side of the Place is it.

I’m not entirely sure what the difference is between the Turkish kebab and the Armenian one. Can anyone shed some light on this? Whatever the case, the kebab at Aux Delices Armenienes was more seasoned and saltier than that at Sylane. Not only is the regular kebab at Aux Delices gigantic, but the meat has a nicer char on it. Given that doner kebab translates into rotating roast, the shaved meat from these gigantic rotating spits should have that bit of crispness. If I had to choose, I’d go with Aux Delices if only for that crispy fat. A side note: I order all of my kebabs “sans frites” because I don’t like soggy fries, and fries stuffed in a saucy kebab inevitably become quite soggy.

Kebabs are a cheap – usually 6 euros, filling, and tasty meal option in Cannes, a town that is not known for being a bargain. After Cannes, we had a chance to try several kebabs and shawarma in Berlin – a very affordable metropolis: we’re talking 2.50 to 3.50 euros for a kebab – all of which I remember hazily at best, so naturally they were delicious, but it wouldn’t be fair to compare. Though I’m fairly certain that with the massive Turkish population in Berlin, Berlin kebabs win.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

