eat. shop. love. nyc.


World Cup fever
June 22, 2010, 3:45 pm
Filed under: Love, Watch | Tags: , , ,

Sorry for the lack of regular posting. I usually get lazy in the summertime because I’m out eating things, but this summer, it’s especially bad because I’m out eating things AND the World Cup is on. My friend Deedles hypothesizes that World Cup is to American soccer fans like Christmas/Easter are to Catholics. Ha. I like soccer, but it’s the World Cup that really gets my blood pumping. Something about the patriotism, the throwback to my motherland, the fact that people all over the world, truly, have a chance to play the real football and emerge victorious… it warms the cockles of my heart.

I am cheering on South Korea and the United States, though I don’t expect either to end up in the finals. South Korea just barely scraped by to advance into the next round today with a 2-2 draw against Nigeria.

Group B MP W D L GF GA +/- Pts
Argentina 3 3 0 0 7 1 +6 9
South Korea 3 1 1 1 5 6 -1 4
Greece 3 1 0 2 2 5 -3 3
Nigeria 3 0 1 2 3 5 -2 1

I was a little heartbroken to see North Korea take such a beating from Portugal… it was a rough week for the Korean peninsula all around. Still, in their first World Cup appearance since 1969, they did a hold their own against Brazil, and that’s saying something.

I’m a lot more active on Twitter these days… something about the summer makes me want to overshare. If you can get past my World Cup tweets, I do occasionally link to something fun/interesting/food-related. See you later, tweeples!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

you said “cockles.”

Comment by mike

DAE HAN MIN GUK!!!!

Comment by mike




Leave a Reply

