eat. shop. love. nyc.


Tongue tacos
June 15, 2010, 12:01 pm
Filed under: Eat | Tags: , , , , , ,

I was returning to the city after visiting a friend and her beautiful twins out in Norwalk, and found out that the 6 pm train was skipping the East Norwalk train station completely due to some kind of electrical failure. It was windy and the next train wasn’t for another hour, so Suki and I sought shelter nearby and found a little Mexican restaurant and bakery called Galicia. We figured we’d order coffee and kill some time.

Once inside, I immediately noticed that all the signs and menus were written in Spanish – Jackpot! There’s a good chance that this place caters to a largely Spanish-speaking clientele.

We had just finished a massive meal, so we weren’t hungry, but when I saw the tacos de lengua (tongue) on the menu for $3, I couldn’t resist. I’d never tried tongue before, but I know it’s quite popular in Mexico City, and I was feeling dangerous. Like Andrew Zimmern with an attitude.

It was a damn good decision. Juicy, moist, and tender chunks of unassuming meat – had I not known what it was, I never would have guessed it was once inside a cow’s mouth. The texture was quite smooth, the flavor beefy with a hint of pleasant gaminess, the radish a perfect palate cleanser between each lime-drizzled bite.

And who can say no to cilantro?

Galicia also had my favorite guava juice soft drink: Boing!

Had I not been quite so full, I would gladly have sampled their sopes and their especiales. I get the feeling that this place does Mexican food right. If you’re ever near the East Norwalk train station, give it a shot!

Eat: Galicia Restaurant and Bakery (Norwalk, CT) 218 East Avenue at Fort Point St., Norwalk, CT 06855. (203) 854-9277

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

you brave….

Comment by Aarti




Leave a Reply

