eat. shop. love. nyc.


Soft shell crab banh mi
June 9, 2010, 11:29 am
Filed under: Drink, Eat | Tags: , , , , , , , ,

I love soft shell crab. I would slap a baby (thanks, Kim) for some soft shell crab. My summertime go-to for SSC is Great NY Noodletown, but I’ve added a new SSC resto to my rotation after a chance encounter one lazy afternoon. I rarely get up to Gramercy to eat, but I had purchased a massage at Essential Spa on Groupon and found myself in the area. As my eating PIC and I began to amble downtown, we came across Bao Noodles, and we decided that we really wanted to have some noodles. We ordered our noodles, and then we saw this sign:

We decided we would get the $8.95 soft shell crab banh mi to share as our appetizer. It was the best decision we made all month.

Soft, chewy, crusty bread filled with deep fried soft shell crab, cucumber, pickled carrots and daikon radish, and a whole lot of cilantro served with fish sauce and hot sauce on the side. Heaven.

The noodles were good. But not memorable. I’m not even going to bother posting the pictures here because they certainly were not the star of our meal that day. When I return, I plan to get this delicious SSC banh mi again, and I’ll likely try out their Vietnamese brunch. The pork belly with chicken sticky rice and broccoli sounds like a winner, and Vietnamese congee with deep fried bread should be perfect hangover food. $9.99 for your choice of entree and a brunch beverage – Bloody Bao all the way!

Eat: Bao Noodles (Gramercy) 391 2nd Ave. between 22nd and 23rd. (212) 725-7770. Cash only. Banh mi specials available noon to 5 pm daily. Brunch specials on weekends – call for exact hours.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Thanks for the great report about Bao Noodles. FYI – Michael Huynh is not involved with Bao Noodles.

Comment by Tracey Henry




Leave a Reply

