eat. shop. love. nyc.


Summery underthings at Azaleas
June 7, 2010, 11:43 am
Filed under: Shop | Tags: , , , , , ,

It’s summer. It’s hot out. I would like to live in a world where it were socially acceptable to go braless all the time in steaming hot weather, but that world exists only in my fantasies. In real life, the only people who will appreciate your braless-ness in public are likely to be pervs.

This is why summertime is a great time to augment your lingerie collection. Say goodbye to padding, underwires, restrictive cups, and chunky straps. Say hello to light linings, lace, soft cups, and spaghetti straps.

As soon as I walked into the little lingerie shop Azaleas on East 10th between 1st and 2nd Avenues, the two salesgirls greeted me and offered their assistance, letting me know right away that if I saw anything I liked that wasn’t in my size, I could just ask because they have other sizes tucked away in their secret treasure bins.

You’ll find all sorts of pretty, lacy underthings here, and a decent selection of non-underthings as well – Mink Pink, Plastic Island, Yumi Kim, etc. I was introduced to several lingerie brands with which I was previously unfamiliar: Belabumbum, Mimi Holliday, CLO Intima, Wendy Glez. I was impressed with their many soft-cup and bralette options.

There is also a good assortment of basic bras, and the girls were really helpful. There was another girl who was considerably more well-endowed than I am shopping at the same time as me, and she was looking for 36DD strapless bra for a wedding she was a bridesmaid in. The salesgirl helped her select a seamless strapless bra that actually fit, stayed up, and gave her gals a little boost without making them look in-your-face-ginormous (which I understand is difficult when you are a 36DD).

If you specify a price range, they are more than willing to make suggestions. You can get a great fitting bra there for around $30-$40, although there are pricier and oft lovelier items to be found.

It should be noted that you can probably find cheaper lingerie at Century 21 or online, but it’s really nice to treat yourself to a proper fitting in a friendly and non-department store setting. Plus, who wants to buy lingerie online when sizing and fit varies so dramatically from brand to brand and even within the same brand?

Go to Azaleas. Pick up a summer bra. I recommend the $30 Florence mesh or Camellia lace bralettes by Honeydew or the $52 CLO Fortuna lace bra. They also have a decent selection of bathing suits, and I suppose you can always wear a bikini top instead of a bra

Shop: Azaleas (East Village) 223 E 10th St. between 1st and 2nd Aves., New York, NY 10003. (212) 253-5484

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

