eat. shop. love. nyc.


My NYC to-eat list
April 29, 2010, 4:07 pm
Filed under: Eat

I have an embarrassingly long list of restaurants in NYC that I have been meaning to try and still have not tried. In my defense, I have tried quite a few others already, and there are a lot of places to try in this grand city of ours! For one reason or another, I have been delayed or have opted for the tried-and-true, and this must stop now. As such, I’m going to be putting a list of these places together, mostly so I can keep track of them for myself, and I will make plans with friends to check them off my list. WORK IN PROGRESS! I apologize in advance for the downtown Manhattan-centric list. I never claimed to be all-encompassing. Items marked in bold have been done. In no alphabetical order and subject to change (and further explication):

  • 26 Seats – Tiny, intimate French restaurant in the EVill, best shared with close company
  • Aldea – If I’m feeling fancy
  • Amy Ruth’s – Soul food in Harlem, apparently the fried ANYTHING is well worth the trip
  • B & H Dairy – I usually avoid vegetarian places like the plague, but I’m willing to give this one a shot
  • Babbo – Mario Batali is amazing, orange Crocs and all. He’s also hilarious, and I would go to Babbo on the sliver of a chance that I might catch a glimpse of him like I did Morimoto
  • Back Forty – Crab boil, what?!
  • Balthazar – I always get takeout here for lunch, but I understand that it’s not the same
  • Barrio Chino – Have only had drinks here; would love to try the food but it’s always so packed!
  • Bia Garden – Beer by the pack, Asian tapas and mains. The food here was very good, but I was turned off by the
  • Blue Ribbon Brasserie – I have no good excuse for why I haven’t bowed to this mecca of late night dining.
  • Boqueria – I love small plates, and the abundance of chorizo on the menu here means I am so in.
  • Bouley – Legend has it that I will walk out of Bouley a changed woman if I simply try the tasting menu.
  • Breslin – Having an early breakfast with my Meggo on 5/20/10 – Will report soon thereafter!
  • Cafe El Portal – SoHo hidden gem with authentic Mexican. I love me some fish tacos.
  • Cafe Mogador – Moroccan brunch? Why, yes. I think I’d like that.
  • Cafe Orlin – Pumpkin pancakes. Wear something with an elastic waistband or take a friend and share.
  • Christie’s Jamaican Patties – I have never had a Jamaican patty but I’m fairly certain it will be a fiery and delightful to my tastebuds
  • Congee Village – Suki is constantly getting a massive spread of delicious Chinese food here, including but not restricted to congee. Will be going when someone will order massive amounts of food for me to taste.
  • Corner Bistro – Is this really the best burger in NYC? I need to know.
  • Double Crown – I really want to do the Sunday Nonya dinner here
  • Doughnut Plant – I haven’t had any donuts here, but not for lack of trying. The two times I’ve been, the line was unbearably long. I plan to go early one weekday morning by bike to indulge in a dulce de leche doughnut!
  • Dos Toros – I am still trying to fill the LA El Taurino void
  • Dovetail
  • E-mo – Kimbap to go!
  • Fatty Crab
  • Fatty ‘Cue – Late night field trip to Brooklyn? Would like to partake in new late night menu and drink specials (recession special, stimulus package – see last post)
  • Fette Sau – Heralded as best BBQ in all NYC boroughs
  • Flea Market Cafe
  • Georgia’s East Side BBQ – Fried chicken and a coronary, coming right up!
  • Hakata Ton Ton – Suki’s parting wish
  • Jimmy’s No. 43
  • Kampuchea – Heard great things about the rice vermicelli and just about everything here. Was so flippin’ good when I tried w/Sara and Dimitri on Friday, April 30. Review to come soon.
  • Keste
  • Kuma Inn
  • La Esquina – So I can eat fancy Mexican like the How to Make It in America crew
  • Little Owl
  • Locanda Verde – I do love me some fried chicken, and I’m curious as to how the Monday fried chicken special stacks up
  • Manhattan Inn – Contrary to what one might assume from its name, this resto is in Brooklyn, and it’s not an inn at all. Pressed kimchi and pork belly panini highly recommended by Mike K.
  • Mercadito
  • Mermaid Oyster Bar – Need I say more?
  • Minetta Tavern – After watching on No Reservations, my pupils begin to dilate as I spiral into imagined bliss
  • Momofuku Ssam Bar – I’m intrigued by the bo ssam dinner, but mostly I want red eye mayo and country ham
  • Otafuku – I love me some okonomiyaki. This place isn’t DIY, but I’ll make do.
  • Per Se – One day, my friends… one very special day
  • Pulino’s – If Schiller’s served pizza, it would be Pulino’s. Extremely thin crust pizza napoletana was awesome, but the carrot salad fell short. Eaten 5/17/10. Review.
  • Rolando’s Spanish & Caribbean Food
  • Sal, Kris, & Charlie’s Deli
  • Shopsin’s – Every time I’ve gone, they’ve cut off the line so I haven’t had a chance to try!
  • Spotted PigMust try that burger! Tried the burger. Meh. Tried the fish. Wow.
  • Stanton Social – High end tapas, cool loungey vibe, right in my neighborhood.
  • Tree – Their seafood linguine is featured on Food Network’s “The Best Thing I Ever Ate”
  • WD-50 – An 11 course tasting menu featuring feats of molecular gastronomy? Sold.
  • Wechsler’s Currywurst & Bratwurst
  • Wondee Siam – Thai place that I consistently hear is absolutely amazing. I am on the lookout for some amazing Thai in Manhattan, so I’m willing to give it a shot.
  • Yerba Buena – Upscale Latin fusion
  • Zaragoza – A nondescript deli with awesome, authentic Mexican food in the back
  • Zenkichi – Japanese izakaya, not the fratted out St. Mark’s version (which I like from time to time)
7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

great list mel! several of them have been our faves too. let me know if you are recruiting eat-out buddies!!

Comment by Julie

Good quality list. I need to try most of the places you listed as well. pretty much every one except Amy Ruths and congee. Check out some of my favorites on http://jaysnycrestaurantreviews.com

Comment by jaymandel

WD-50! That is still on my to-do list… And if you’ve never been, Aquavit is a very unique and delish experience. BUT I’ve heard from a few that Per Se is way NOT worth it. I’m fantasizing about the wine pairing menu at Daniel instead.

Comment by Marianna

So you haven’t had the burgers at Corner Bistro, Spotted Pig, OR Minetta Tavern??? Where HAVE you burgered at, mmmel? (Burger Joint, Shake Shack, 5 Napkin, 5 Guys, Paul’s ?)

Comment by seanscheng

I’ve gone to Corner Bistro for a burger; the line was too long. I’ve been meaning to get to the Spotted Pig for a burger, and I just haven’t gotten around to it. With Minetta Tavern, I suppose I should queue up for a reservation a month out and after 10 pm. Come to think of it, I can’t really recall that many places I have had a burger in NYC… Shake Shack, Clinton St. Baking Co, Zaitzeff, burger with the lot at Bondi Road… While I enjoy a good burger, my past dining decisions seem to indicate that it’s just not at the top of my priority list. I am so ashamed. Oh! The burger with foie gras at DB Bistro Moderne – need to add that to my list.

Comment by Melody

Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

Thumbs up, and keep it going!

Cheers
Christian, iwspo.net

Comment by newsurire

Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

Thumbs up, and keep it going!

Cheers
Christian,Diet Guide!

Comment by newsurire




Leave a Reply

