eat. shop. love. nyc.


CSBC to fill my Roscoe’s Chicken and Waffles void?

When I moved to LA in 2004, I was told that I should make it a point to eat at legendary Los Angeles eateries Pink’s Hot Dogs and Roscoe’s Chicken and Waffles. Now that I live in NYC, I have filled my Pink’s deficit with Crif Dogs, and I have been skating by on a rather delicious but daintier version of chicken and waffles (buttered cornmeal waffle with fried chicken, $10.50, served with apple compote – pictured) from the Alias brunch menu. The Alias chicken and waffles isn’t the artery-clogging, rib-sticking taste explosion of fatkid heaven you get at Roscoe’s, but it’s still mighty tasty and you don’t feel like you’re going to have a heart attack.

The perfect bite at Alias:

Given my enthusiasm for chicken and waffles, maple butter, beer, and Clinton St. Baking Co., when I read on the Strong Buzz that CSBC has now introduced Fried Chicken and Waffles Wednesdays, I jumped for joy. You get buttermilk fried chicken with honey and Tabasco sauce on a crispy Belgian waffle with warm maple butter and a frosty bottle of Rogue Chipotle Ale for $20 on Wednesdays.

Be still, my heart.

Go: Clinton St. Baking Co. (LES) 4 Clinton Street, near Houston, 646-602-6263. Wednesdays only.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] with special hot sauce and horchata always makes me happy. #6. Roscoe’s Chicken and Waffles. Duh! Be like Snoop Dogg and eat there. Leave a Comment No Comments Yet so far Leave a comment RSS […]

Pingback by My favorite Los Angeles things « eat. shop. love. nyc.




Leave a Reply

