eat. shop. love. nyc.


Dreaming of Cannes, rose wine in hand
March 12, 2010, 5:41 pm
Filed under: Drink, Eat | Tags: , , ,

This is what my perfect picnic looks like:

On the beach near the Palais in Cannes, armed with two sandwiches from the corner bakery and Provence rose spritzers. I’m becoming increasingly excited for my return to Cannes for MIPTV in April. I drink rose like it’s the nectar of life for the two weeks a year when I’m in Cannes, and then I don’t drink it again for the rest of the year. It really is the perfect summer wine, though. There is more depth to it than in white wine, and it’s still perfectly crisp and appropriate for summer. For me, the drier the better, none of the sweet stuff (it makes me sick the next day). I hope rose comes back in fashion here in the US. Franzia and other sickly sweet white zinfandels have disgraced pink wines in the minds of Americans everywhere!

Also, why is it that the bread at these French bakeries in France tastes so different from the bread at the French bakeries in the US? What I wouldn’t give for a classic jambon beurre…

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

If you don’t think whites have complexity, you gotta try Torrontes from Argentina. Will blow your sox off!!

That pic looks amazing btw.

Comment by Aarti

It’s not that I don’t like whites or think that they lack complexity; I just like the hint of warmth or depth offered in a good rose. Still, I usually stick to whites when drinking at home – I like dry and grassy or citrus-y whites with high acid to cut through the fatty and spicy foods I so adore.

Comment by Melody




Leave a Reply

