eat. shop. love. nyc.


Baohaus should have a topping station
February 22, 2010, 1:27 pm
Filed under: Eat | Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

The beef was meaty.

The pork belly was buttery. More fat than meat, just the way I like it.

The tofu was fried perfectly. Crisped on the outside and warm on the inside.

It just wasn’t the right flavor combination for me personally.

There is nothing wrong with the baos at Baohaus. In fact, they are soft, fluffy, and highly satisfying to bite into. It’s simply a matter of preference for me as I shy away from overly sweet flavors outside of dessert. I would have liked to have the brown sugar, peanut and cilantro topping on the side, or at a sauce/topping station where I could add as much or as little of everything as I liked – kinda like when you go to have Taiwanese hotpot and they have the sauce station with little bins of chopped cilantro, onion, hot sauce, hot oil, vinegars, and other stuff. The topping station should have sriracha, too, because I like putting that on everything.

Mike K. loved everything at Baohaus from the music (sweet hip hop mixes and mashups) to the food (the pork belly was his fave) and the drink (though he liked my lychee juice better than the Taiwanese root beer). I was a big fan of the giveaway stickers. The “Pork fat is forever” sticker with a picture of the pork belly bao really spoke to me.

We both were surprised when we ate the sweet bao fries.

We hadn’t read the description so we didn’t realize it was fried strips of bao (bread), not of potatoes. As such, the dish was definitely more of a dessert than a savory-sweet side, and tasted like bao donut strips. No matter. The black sesame sauce was really good, but I found I could only eat a few “fries” before I found myself sated. This is heaven for people with a major sweet tooth, but for the rest of us, it’s a nice dessert to share.

Pricewise, it’s most economical to go with the $28 Royal Frush. It gets you 6 baos and bao fries. They’re in the process of acquiring a beer & wine license, so while their application is in, they are no longer BYO. Sorry, guys.

Eat: Baohaus (LES) 137 Rivington St. between Norfolk and Suffolk, New York, NY 10002. (646) 684-3835. Cash only.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

“Royal Frush” –that’s somewhat tacky.

Hahaha. Ha. Ha.

Comment by Jilly




Leave a Reply

