eat. shop. love. nyc.


Ippudo’s ramen broth is the awesomest
February 18, 2010, 12:50 pm
Filed under: Eat | Tags: , , , , ,

I get it. Ramen is super. But how much better can one ramen be than another ramen?

A lot. A whole lot.

Ippudo has the best pork ramen broth I’ve had in my life, and for me, it’s the most important part of any noodle soup. Ippudo’s broth is milky in appearance, the texture is rich and full, and the flavor is undeniably pork-y without being overly so. It’s way better than Momofuku (I feel a little blasphemous saying this since I’m a huge David Chang fan) and way way better than Minca (which is still really good). It’s actually better than any ramen I had during my ten days in Japan, though it’s possible that I didn’t eat at any of the well-known ramen places there. The pork buns at Ippudo are pretty darn good, too, though Momofuku wins in this category for me because I prefer a thick slab of fatty pork belly to the pork Hirata buns (whew – I feel a little less guilty now).

The space itself is really cool in a kitschy modern Japanese kind of way. Huge dining room, open kitchen, high ceilings, communal seating. I especially liked the all-white wall with 3D kanji characters above the booths and the rock/stump garden lit with candles on our table. The communal seating actually gave us the opportunity to meet the people dining next to us, and it was a great evening.

I ordered the Shiromaru classic ramen with a poached egg, but found that the richness of the milky broth didn’t need the extra oomph from the onsen tamago (poached egg), and I think I would have preferred the nitamago (seasoned soft-boiled egg).

Next time, I’ll be having the Akamaru Modern, which is like the classic except with a little more spice.

If you’re famished, don’t finish all your broth. For 2 bucks, you can get Kae-dama, which is basically noodle refill, and then you can extend your eating pleasure for another round.

There’s going to be a wait, but it goes more quickly than you’re told, and you can have a drink and a Hirata bun at the bar while you wait. The bartender is super sweet, and it’s a good time all around. Get thine ass to Ippudo.

Go: Ippudo NY (Union Square/East Village) 65 4th Ave, New York, NY 10003 (212) 388-0088

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

i’m shocked you havent been there before!!! place is awesome… love it. try the pork buns next time, really good as well. like momofuku, but a tad less oilly. Also, they have a sesame cucumber appetizer there as well… really good!!!!

Comment by Felix

Great stuff, thanks for another informative read, I enjoy returning to your blog via twitter to read your updates.

Comment by Bobby

Thank you! It’s really great to hear that someone out there (besides my friends – who are socially obliged) actually reads and appreciates the blog. =)

Comment by Melody




Leave a Reply

