eat. shop. love. nyc.


Lobster lovers rejoice!
January 30, 2010, 7:28 pm
Filed under: Eat, Go | Tags: , , ,

$35 for an appetizer, 1.25 lb. TWIN lobsters, and dessert. That’s right. TWIN lobsters. Not 1, but 2. When it comes to lobster, it is, indeed, double your pleasure.

Did my first NYRW dinner out last night at City Crab and Seafood Company. $35 gets you your choice of seafood chowder, salad (boo – who orders salad for RW?!), or lobster and crab spring rolls; plus TWO 1.25 lb. lobsters and corn, Alaskan King Crab legs, or crab cake; and key lime pie, apple pie a la mode, or chocolate mousse.

The seafood corn chowder was good, though I think I prefer my corn chowders to taste a bit more strongly of corn and preferably with just one type of seafood (clam, shrimp, lobster, or fish; not all together). Yes, I get that a seafood chowder contains a multitude of seafood by definition, so maybe I’m biased, but I would have taken a good New England clam chowder and been just as happy, if not more so.Nobody in our group bothered with the salad, and I’m glad, because I would lose respect instantly and maybe have to end a friendship. The lobster and crab spring rolls were basically Vietnamese-style eggrolls stuffed with lobster and crab. Very good, and just the right portion before your gigantic main course.

For your main course, just get the lobster – er – lobsters. 2 big lobsters with a full cob of corn (a relief to me because when restaurants serve me a dinky half corn-on-the-cob, it makes me sad) and lots of butter. I actually prefer the daily double (2 1.25 lb. steamed or boiled lobsters) from El Quijote, which comes with a Tuscan white bean soup and choice of side, but no dessert.

Clearly, Sara enjoyed her meal (and everyone else’s leftovers).

No one in our party got the crab cakes, so I can’t comment on those, but one person got the crab and said it was great, though certainly not as overwhelming a portion as the lobster. Also, I don’t love king crab. It’s quantity over quality. If I’m going to have crab, I’m going to roll up my sleeves and suffer through the laborious task of extracting precious morsels of sweet, flavorful Maryland blue crab meat. Still, given the opportunity, I will eat 6 plates of king crab legs only when I go to Caesar’s lunch buffet in Atlantic City. I’d rather, however, play hooky from work one afternoon and go try out the all-you-can-eat Maryland blue crab lunch special at Fish.

For dessert, I ordered the key lime pie, which ended up having more the consistency of a cheesecake. The flavor was great, but when I think key lime pie, I want light and fluffy. I was disappointed, but I ate all the crust. The bf got apple pie a la mode, and the pie was delicious. I don’t like fruit-filled pies, just the ice cream and the crusts with some residual fruit sauce. It’s too bad there wasn’t more ice cream. If I went again, I’d order the chocolate mousse.

Service overall was good. We arrived half an hour early for our reservation, and they seated 4 of the 6 of us right away without any hassle. It took a little while for us to place our orders and the service was a wee bit sloppy (Sean ended up with butter on his shoulder somehow), but our waiter was friendly, and he was a trooper about taking photos of us all evening. There was a 20% service charge included on the bill, so keep that in mind for parties of 6 or more. The deal on the lobsters is tremendous, and I’d say City Crab is a must-go for RW-goers who love lobster.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Re: City Crab and Seafood Company – Are you SERIOUS??? How did I miss this? (I think I want to cry) I’m all RW’d out (dictated more by budget than stomach) but will definitely have to keep my eye out for this one next time.

Comment by Julie

[…] My own review of City Crab and Seafood Co. for NYRW Winter 2010 […]

Pingback by NYRW Winter 2010 reviews are trickling in « eat. shop. love. nyc.

Thank you for the useful thoughts.. Still a typical first class thread, this really is the reason my partner and I come to all your blogging site constantly!!

TYLER

Comment by hydrolyze




Leave a Reply

