eat. shop. love. nyc.


Hello, Restaurant Week.

So glad you’re here.

I have started working out again, and it has nothing to do with some flimsy new year’s resolution. No, no. It’s something much more serious and meaningful than that, my friends. It’s so I don’t turn into a fat tub of lard during winter restaurant week (which is actually two weeks of hard core eating) as I stuff myself with 3 course meals day in and day out.

My lineup is dictated by three key factors: (1) the presence of seafood on the menu – I am a sucker for shellfish, (2) spicy/ethnic flavors, and (3) proximity to my office – so I can sneak out for lunch without being gone for 2 hours – and home – because I like to eat and be able to walk some of it off on the way home. Makes me feel less guilty. So here it is, my NYRW lineup:

  • Today, Friday, Jan. 29, 2010: Dinner at City Crab and Seafood Company, Gramercy. They had me at “Seafood Chowder.” By the time I read “lobster” on the menu, I had already drooled a little on myself. RW menu. 235 Park Ave S; New York, NY 10003. (212) 529-3800.
  • Saturday, Jan. 30, 2010: Brunch at Joe Doe, LES. Okay, so it’s not technically a RW meal since JoeDoe isn’t participating, but it is still going to be awesome. I am stoked to try the winter beertails (or “prepared beers”)  he’s got on his drink menu now! Please let there be bourbon. 45 E 1st St (btwn 1st & 2nd Aves); New York, NY 10003. (212) 780-0262.
  • Tuesday, Feb. 2, 2010: Dinner at Le Cirque. Honestly, I don’t really know a lot about Le Cirque. Only that at some point, it was a really famous, very snooty French restaurant. I suppose the food is good, since people don’t generally enjoy snooty otherwise. RW menu. 151 E 58th St; New York, NY 10022. (212) 644-0315.
  • Wednesday or Thursday, Feb. 3 or 4, 2010: Lunch at either Butter (NoHo), Lure (SoHo), or Del Posto (Meatpacking – yeah, I’ll risk getting in trouble for taking a 2 hour lunch for Mario). Hurry up and decide, Jason!
  • Friday, Feb. 5, 2010: Romantic dinner at Rayuela, LES. I had some friends who went for a birthday dinner last weekend and they said the food, and especially the paella, was amazing. Did someone say seafood and cilantro? Sold. RW menu. 165 Allen St (btwn Rivington & Stanton); New York, NY. (212) 253-8840.

Where are you eating? Tell me if you have any recommendations!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

my vote would be for either del posto (heard amazing things) or butter! you choose from there 🙂

Comment by Jason

[…] Posts NYC Oyster Happy Hour RoundupHello, Restaurant Week.Whole Foods wants a healthy workforce; so what?Where the girls are (on Wednesday nights)Get Lady […]

Pingback by Lobster lovers rejoice! « eat. shop. love. nyc.




Leave a Reply

