eat. shop. love. nyc.


Old Bay seasoning rocks my drinks
August 4, 2009, 12:16 am
Filed under: Drink | Tags: ,
Crustacean Mary at Alias (Clinton/Rivington)

Crustacean Mary at Alias (Clinton/Rivington)

Recent visits to JoeDoe have gotten our mixology juices churning as of late. Salted honey, Lawry’s Seasoned Salt, cayenne pepper, and peanut dust… all add a clever little twist on several of JoeDoe’s signature beertails. Excuse me, prepared beers. (The Muddy Puddle is my new favorite.) I also had the Maryland Crab Boil, which is, in essence, an Old Bay-rimmed margarita.

Now, I understand that this might be old news for more seasoned (hardy har har – pun intended!) cocktail snobs out there, but it’s new to me and I love it. I’m seeing Old Bay pop up on more and more drink menus everywhere. Is it because it’s summer and it’s crab boil time? Is it a passing fad? I hope not, because the next time I am in a grocery store I am going to buy a jumbo container of Old Bay and rim all of my alcoholic beverages with it so I can be as cool as the guys who dream up things like an Old Bay-rimmed margarita. How do you think Old Bay will go with white wine? It might taste pretty good, methinks.

A few weeks ago, I went to Alias (76 Clinton St. between Delancey St & Rivington St) and experienced what was undoubtedly the best bloody mary I’ve had in New York City. Maybe even in the world, but I didn’t start drinking bloody marys until I got here so I’m not sure I’ve downed enough bloody marys to make that bold a statement. I was never all that big on V8, which is why I never really liked bloody marys, but I’m finding that all I really needed was to find the right mix. (My newfound love for bloody marys probably also has something to do with the fact that somehow, I feel less guilty about drinking vodka at 11 am when it’s mixed with vegetable juice – it’s healthy, right?) The $8 Crustacean Mary at Alias is basically a wonderful tomatoey drink with just the right amount of vodka, made especially wonderful with the addition of Old Bay seasoning, pickled celery, and the biggest goshdarn cocktail shrimp I’ve ever seen in my life. Check out that shrimp to glass ratio.

Mmm… shrimp. It’s what’s for breakfast. I don’t know exactly what recipe Alias uses for its Crustacean Mary, but if you want to make your own version, I found a recipe online that sounds about right:

OLD BAY BLOODY MARY

Ingredients
* 1 quart chilled V8 vegetable juice
* 1/4 cup freshly squeezed lime juice
* 1 tablespoon worcestershire sauce
* 1 teaspoon Tabasco sauce
* 2 teaspoons prepared horseradish
* 1 teaspoon Old Bay Seasoning
* 1 teaspoon fresh ground black pepper
* 1/2 teaspoon celery salt
* 1/2 cup chilled vodka (peppered vodka is especially good!)
* fresh lime juice, for glass rims
* additional Old Bay Seasoning

Directions
1. Dip rim of cocktail glass in lime juice and then in Old Bay seasoning. Set aside.
2. Mix V-8, lime juice, worcestershire sauce, tabasco, horseradish, and seasonings together in large pitcher. Stir in chilled vodka.
3. Add ice to rimmed glasses and pour blood mary mix over. Garnish with lime slices, olives, and/or celery sticks. And a GIGANTOR COCKTAIL SHRIMP. <– I was feeling inspired and added that last part all by myself.

Serves 4-6. (Or 1, and then it’d be a real party. After all, V8 is good for you.)

Happy crab boil!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

